awards, dbacks

2015 Awards Results: BBWAA and IBWAA

BBWAA – Baseball Writers Association of America

The Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA) are announcing their award winners this week between November 16-19th. These awards honor the best rookie, best manager, best pitcher and best player in each league for the 2015 season.  The BBWAA says that its purpose, 

“is to ensure proper working conditions in press boxes and clubhouses, and to ensure its members have access to players and others in the game so members’ reporting can be accurate, fair and complete.”

Members of the BBWAA get official votes for the following awards, as well as the inductees to the National Baseball Hall of Fame. Let’s get to this year’s winners according to the members of the BBWAA.

*I should note that the BBWAA has not quite gotten with modern times being that most news is read online so currently they allow only writers from a few “major websites” such as and That is why the Internet Baseball Writers Association of Amercia (IBWAA) was founded and why their votes for the awards are included on page two of this post.


November 16, 2015 – ROOKIE OF THE YEAR

National League (NL)Kris Bryant, Chicago Cubs

American League (AL)Carlos Correa, Houston Astros

November 17, 2015 – MANAGER OF THE YEAR

NLJoe Maddon, Chicago Cubs

jeff banister, awards
Jeff Banister. American League Manager of the Year. Getty Images.

ALJeff Banister, Texas Rangers

(I actually predicted this in early September when everyone was still sure that the Houston Astros’ A.J. Hinch was the clear winner. You can read about it here: Ranger’s Banister making a case for Manager of the Year)

November 18, 2015 – CY YOUNG AWARD

NLJake Arrieta, Chicago Cubs

ALDallas Keuchel, Houston Astros

November 19, 2015 – MOST VALUABLE PLAYER

NLBryce Harper, Washington Nationals

ALJosh Donaldson, Toronto Blue Jays

%d bloggers like this: