2015 Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners

2015 Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners (plus my thoughts on them!)

The 2015 Rawlings Gold Glove Award recipients were revealed today on ESPN. Personally there are a few I don’t agree with – as you all know who I’m going to mention first –

Of course Cespedes and it’s mainly because I don’t think he’s a good defender. Those two incredible (and they were) throws from left field in Anaheim in 2014 were made because he missed making the play in the first place. Those throws would not have been needed had he fielded the ball cleanly to begin with. And while I know the World Series doesn’t count – there was the World Series (and I know he was playing center but still).

The one I take the biggest exception with is Dallas Keuchel winning over Sonny Gray for the simple reason that Sonny didn’t make a single error all season and has a perfect fielding percentage as a result. Keuchel had a fielding percentage of .986, which is great actually. It means he committed just one error all season. Keuchel is going to get the Cy Young Award more than likely, would it hurt to have somehow acknowledged Sonny Gray?!

It’s alright though. Gray is going to put up better numbers for more years than Keuchel when it comes to career numbers (and likely number of Cy Young Awards too!). But congrats to Keuchel along with all the other 2015 Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners!!

Here is the full list of 2015 Rawlings Gold Glove Award Winners:

National League

C Yadier Molina, Cardinals
1B Paul Goldschmidt, Diamondbacks
2B Dee Gordon, Marlins
3B Nolan Arenado, Rockies
SS Brandon Crawford, Giants
LF Starling Marte, Pirates
CF A.J. Pollock, Diamondbacks
RF Jason Heyward, Cardinals
P Zack Greinke, Dodgers

American League

C Salvador Perez, Royals
1B Eric Hosmer, Royals
2B Jose Altuve, Astros
3B Manny Machado, Orioles
SS Alcides Escobar, Royals
LF Yoenis Cespedes, Tigers/Mets
CF Kevin Kiermaier, Rays
RF Kole Calhoun, Angels
P Dallas Keuchel, Astros

There are two others that I take issue with. The first one isn’t because Josh Reddick did not win it this year, and that is Kole Calhoun. He isn’t even close to Reddick – offensively OR defensively – he’s the mediocre third best player on the Los Angeles Angels.

Secondly, everyone knows that Andrelton Simmons is the best defensive shortstop in the Majors. Givng it to anyone else, especially a member of the San Francisco Giants – well, its is just wrong. Simmons should have taken it easily.

Yet, that’s neither here nor there … those are your winners for 2015.

As Drew Silva of NBC Sports writes,

“Gold Glove Awards are voted on annually by the managers and coaches around Major League Baseball. A sabermetric component was added in 2013, providing a statistical guide from the Society for American Baseball Research (SABR) to the voting body, but there are obviously still deep flaws with the process. Try not to get too outraged. Or go to town in the comments about which players got screwed. Whatever floats your boat.” 

I concur, get outraged or don’t but do leave a comment!! 😉

  • Wayne Cavadi

    I’m surprised there was no Brandon Crawford bashing, knowing your love for those Gnats as I believe you call them lol 😉

    I think Crawford is a good defensive shortstop, I just think Simmons is better. I was surprised he didn’t get it.

    And I agree with you on Cespedes. People remember those throws, but they don’t remember the play that led to them — nor do they remember him needing to be pulled for Juan Ligares in the World Series!

    • Yeah, I wrote it last night and am going to add in a note about Simmons – he’s excellent. The other one would be Kevin Pillar – he was great last season, but they were judging him on his performance in center then Kevin Kiermaier then the right guy got the award there. But Kole Calhoun? Seriously? Over Josh Reddick? You’ve got to be kidding me! (oh and I’ve been keeping my “gnats” speak to a minimum these days. It’s cool if people know I despise them but it’s about trying to be a bit more professional! You know what I mean! lol!)

%d bloggers like this: