ICYMI: 2014 Rookie of the Year Awards go to deGrom, Abreu

In case you missed it, the 2014 Rookie of the Year Awards were announced on Monday.

Voted on by the members of the Baseball Writers Association of America (BBWAA), the 2014 Rookie of the Year Award winners were first baseman Jose Abreu of the Chicago White Sox for the American League and starting pitcher Jacob deGrom of the New York Mets for the National League.

Abreu, a 27-year-old rookie who recently defected from Cuba and was signed by the Chicago White Sox to play first base, won the A.L. Rookie of the Year Award unanimously. He was awarded all 30 first place votes of the BBWAA.

Abreu ended the season hitting .317/.383/.581 with 35 doubles, 36 homers and 107 RBI. He not only was the power hitter the White Sox had hoped for but he hit consistently, drew walks and got on base.

He overwhelmingly was the A.L. Rookie of the Year. His only real competition in the first half came in the form of the New York Yankees’ starting pitcher Masahiro Tanaka who had already won 12 games when he was shut down in early July with a partially torn ulnar collateral ligament. He finished the season at 13-5.

Later on in the season, Los Angeles Angels’ starter Matt Shoemaker emerged finishing second in the voting and finishing the year with a 3.04 ERA. Third place in the voting went to reliever Dellin Betances of the New York Yankees who finished the season with a 1.40 ERA.

Jacob deGrom had an unbelievable and unexpected season for the New York Mets, that culminated Monday when he was named the N.L. Rookie of the Year.  He was brought up when Dillion Gee went on the disabled list in May.

deGrom had one short string of mediocre starts but he was otherwise pretty close to perfection. His biggest accomplishment in a start was setting a Mets’ franchise record and tying a MLB record by striking out the first eight batters he faced in a game against the Miami Marlins.

deGrom went 9-6 with a 2.69 ERA and 144 strikeouts in 22 starts.

Coming in second to deGrom was the Cincinnati Reds’ speedy outfielder Billy Hamilton and third place in the BBWAA’s voting was second baseman Kolten Wong of the St. Louis Cardinals.


%d bloggers like this: