Gold Glove Awards: Royals, Orioles come up big

St Louis Cardinals v New York Mets
Getty Images

The winners of the Rawlings Gold Glove Awards were announced on Tuesday night. There were a couple first timers and a lot of the players already suspected to be on the final winners list.

Each winner had one thing in common. They all demonstrated the best example of defensive play at their position during the 2014 season.

Starting in 2013, the Gold Glove voting has been voted on by managers and coaches whose votes make up 75 percent of the winning vote.

The other 25 percent of the vote comes from statistical analysis in collaboration with the Society for American Baseball Research (SABR)

In the National League Yadier Molina stole the show, winning his seventh straight N.L. Gold Glove at catcher, beating out two extrememly talented candidates the Milwaukee Brewers backstop Jonathan Lucroy and the coveted free agent catcher from the Pittsburgh Pirates’ Russell Martin.

Colorado Rockies’ third baseman Nolan Arenado had this to say about winning his second straight Gold Glove,

“I’m not trying to sound greedy or anything, but this year’s Gold Glove kind of hit me a little harder than it did last year,” Arenado said. “Last year, I was kind of in shock. When you’ve won one year, the goal is to keep it and the goal is to always make your plays and help your pitchers out. I took a lot of pride. Whenever I made errors this year, it hurt me more than it did last year. It means a lot, winning this award.”

Miami Marlins’ left fielder Christian Yelich also stood out by becoming the first Marlins’ outfielder to ever win a Gold Glove. 

In the American League two teams had three players each win a Gold Glove, taking up six of the nine A.L. Gold Glove Awards. Those honors went to the Kansas City Royals’ left fielder Alex Gordon, first baseman Eric Hosmer and catcher Salvador Perez.

Getty Images

It was Gordon’s fourth consecutive win and second consecutive for both Hosmer and Perez.

The other three winners came from the Baltimore Orioles. Shortstop J.J. Hardy took home his fourth consecutive award.

Right fielder Nick Markakis took home his second consecutive Gold Glove. Centerfielder Adam Jones won for the fourth time in his career.

“It is a great honor to win the Gold Glove,” Markakis said. “It is an individual award, but a lot of people contribute to it. [Coach] Wayne Kirby is a great influence on the outfielders and does a great job preparing us and putting us in the right position to make plays.”

A couple newbies in the A.L. were the Seattle Mariners Kyle Seager, who beat out Oakland A’s Josh Donaldson (booo! You deserved it Bringer of Rain! lol) and the Texas Rangers’ Adrian Beltre, and Dallas Keuchel of the Houtson Astros who got the honor at the pitcher’s position.

“The biggest thing as an individual, you want to up every aspect of your game,” Keuchel said. “Not only does my game entail making pitches to each batter, it entails fielding my position. I think a lot of the knock against pitchers is they’re not athletes. I try to do everything I possibly can to make myself the player I am, and this year it was a turnaround, and I’m very thankful I have adjusted to Major League Baseball and look forward to that continuing.”

Here’s a full list of all the recipients of the 2014 Gold Glove Awards:

AL first baseman: Royals’ Eric Hosmer
AL second baseman:  Red Sox’s Dustin Pedroia
AL shortstop:  Orioles’ J.J. Hardy
AL third baseman:  Mariners’ Kyle Seager
AL left fielder: Royals’ Alex Gordon
AL center fielder: Orioles’ Adam Jones
AL right fielder: Orioles’ Nick Markakis
AL pitcher: Astros’ Dallas Keuchel
AL catcher:  Royals’ Salvador Perez

NL first baseman: Dodgers’ Adrian Gonzalez
NL second baseman: Rockies’ DJ LeMahieu
NL shortstop: Braves’ Andrelton Simmons
NL third baseman: Rockies’ Nolan Arenado
NL left fielder: Marlins’ Christian Yelich
NL center fielder: Mets’ Juan Lagares
NL right fielder:  Braves’ Jason Heyward
NL pitcher: Dodgers’ Zack Greinke
NL catcher: Cardinals’ Yadier Molina

%d bloggers like this: