The 10th Commissioner of Major League Baseball has been elected


H.Darr Beiser/USA TODAY Sports
H.Darr Beiser/USA TODAY Sports

It’s official Major League Baseball Commissioner Bud Selig is actually going to follow through and retire. It’s also official that Major League Baseball’s Chief Operating Officer Robert Manfred has been elected as Selig’s successor and the 10th Commissioner in MLB history.

How does the election process work? Who votes in it? The owners from each MLB team are the voters. To be elected a candidate, which in this case was whittled down to three: Manfred, Boston Red Sox chairman/co-owner Tom Werner and MLB’s executive vice president of business Tim Brosnan, must get at least 23 of the league’s 30 teams to vote for him in order to be elected. Often the voting process can go on for more than one vote. Brosnan withdrew from the race before the voting began Thursday.

To finish this article and learn more about Rob Manfred click the link below:

MLB has found its 10th Commissioner in Rob Manfred

Brought to you by FanSided’s Call to the Pen

%d bloggers like this: